Dublin in a Nutshell: Daytrip with Argentinian Students

Over the past week, students from Argentina visited our school, so me and my friends volunteered to help 

with trips and other activities. One of those was a daytrip to Dublin, the capital of Ireland. We all got picked

up by a bus around 7am and had 3 hours of a bus drive ahead of us. Most of us just slept on the way over

because it was just too early.  

First Stop: Guinness Storehouse


     Aesthetic if you ask me...


What they did was, they turned the storehouse into a big museum, because Guinness is a big part of Irish culture (it is

Irish beer). I’m not into beer and especially not into Guinness, because it is simply too bitter, but I have to say, that I

really enjoyed it. I was just wandering around with the others, taking photos and we all got a drink on the upper floor

and just took the view over Dublin in.  

Free time:

Shopping at the fanciest H&M ever

Trinity College Dublin


At 12:30pm we all got separated into smaller groups. I was together with Giada and a few Argentinians. We were

supposed to go together, but everyone ran off to H&M. We tried to follow them but, in the end, I walked around with Giada,

Saskia and Veronica. On the bright side, I ended up buying great sweatpants, and even though we couldn’t get into the

Library of Trinity College, where ‘the Book of Kells’ is (which is part of the world heritage). Also, the University itself is

considered one of the oldest and most renown in the country 

Historic Walk:

  Dublin Castle


At 2pm all of us met up with 2 tour guides, that led us around the city and told us many things about its history. I know

now that Dublin was a small city, and the name comes from the Irish meaning of ‘black pool’. On the grounds of Dublin

castle there once was a giant pool of water which was completely black. Hence, ‘Black pool’ / Dublin (Irish for black pool).

In comparison to big cities in Germany; Dublin, but also other cities have small streets and still stores, that are not popular,

not just big malls with the common brands, that everybody knows.  

Free time 2.0:

Temple Bar: Meeting point before dinner

Expensive shops. maybe someday...


As before, we got split into groups again and got the opportunity to buy some stuff we needed. I guess the most important

thing for me was food... 

 

We met up with others from our group at Temple Bar and wandered down the street to the restaurant we would eat dinner

at, ‘ThunderRoad's Café'.  

A Little Drama:

Before we went to dinner, we got notified by the bus driver, that someone broke into the bus and stole some things like a

backpack. Some of the adults had to go to the police station and report it. 

On our way back home:

Finally, at around 7:30pm we got back on the bus and went back to school. Once again, almost everyone slept throughout

the whole bus ride. I listened to some music, talked to friends back home but I also slept.  

What do you do when you're bored on a long bus drive? Right, take beautiful sunset photos!


 

My conclusion of this trip is that it can definitely be stressful, especially with a group this big. But it is worth it, and I

don’t regret a second of that day. Dublin is a – crowded but – beautiful city and I can only recommend you go there. Maybe

make it two days if you want to relax more but otherwise, you’ll be fine.

 

See you soon, Emilia ;) (2022-24)