Nothing for Cowards

Hi guys! Thanks for clicking in again today! It has been a fun day and I’ve been waiting for hours to write about it.

We woke up earlier than usual at about 7 a.m.. After putting on my uniform, my roommate and I strolled half asleep to our dining hall to get breakfast. After that we met up with Amy - who is the woman that planned the whole trip - in front of the school.

When the bus finally arrived, the people we were doing the trip with were already on it, and the others were picked up along the way heading to the University of Limerick.

We arrived about half an hour later than expected because of all the traffic that was going on in Limerick that day. When we left the bus, they explained to us that we were doing two different activities that day, which were archery and rock-climbing. We were split in two groups, each group starting with one of the activities.

My group and I walked off to one of the sport pitches, where targets, arches, and bows where prepared, with an instructor. We continued with archery which I really enjoyed even though I didn’t do well at my first try, but after the instructor explained the technique to us, I think I did pretty well. 


After archery the groups were switched and we went to the rock-climbing hall, which was a little intimidating to look at. The instructors told us about the equipment we needed to climb, which were:

 

o Harness

Carabiners

Rope

o Belay device

 

We put on our harness and were put in groups of four. One of us was climbing while the others made sure to secure them, the way the instructor told us to. Watching the others climb up looked way easier than actually climbing up myself. When it was my turn to climb up, I got my strength together and climbed. The first climbing routes were pretty easy, even if I had never done it before.

The relief I felt when I reached the top was worth the effort, but it was not done there. When you climbed up, you didn’t finish the climbing route yet because you need to come down too. That was the worst part for some of the people, but I on the other hand really enjoyed it. To come down I had to wait until the instructor gave me the signal to come down. I had to lean back and let go of the climbing stones and push myself back with my feet. The instructor then let me down slowly with the belay device, which was actually pretty fun.

 

Sophia Franzinelli (2022-24)