IBs Stuck Together

Have you ever been hiking in Ireland? If you are interested in it, I invite you to read this blog. 

 

Today I want to share my IB trip to Wicklow with you. Before starting I´m going to leave a list of items you may need if you want to do this trip:

  • Backpack 
  • A change of clothes 
  • Bottle of water 
  • Camera 
  • Lunch 

With all the items ready I was able to leave the Villiers School with the rest of the IB students and get into a bus. The journey was 2h 45 mins so, for the first half, we were sitting next to our friend. After this first part, I stopped at the biggest waterfall in Ireland, that actually wasn´t too big, but was really beautiful. In that same place I ate my lunch.  


When I went back to the bus, the teacher seated me with an IB from the second year so we could get to know each other. That was pretty good cause I was able to ask questions about the year and any other doubts I could have. Then I arrived at the Youth International Hostel, where I shared a room with nine other IB´s. The room was a bit weird cause one of the windows was locked with screws, but the fact that we had bunkbeds was cool and we managed to be all together and talk with each other. 

                                                  

After a while I went hiking with the rest of the group. There was a really big and beautiful lake surrounded by plants and trees and some ducks swimming around. To have better views we went up the mountain next to the lake, and after a while of almost dying we got to see the full lake and the woods around it. 

Exhausted, I went back to the hostel with my group and got changed for dinner in a restaurant nearby. The restaurant was really beautiful, with a rural vibe. We sat in a verry long table all together and I chatted with my friends until dinner was ready. I ordered a burger, that tasted really good and I had an amazing time even though I was really exhausted. When we were all finished, I went back to the hostel and got ready to go to sleep. Before sleeping, I chatted with some of my dorm mates. 

 

This was a really interesting and fun experience that I would love to repeat and I encourage everyone to do it, even more if it's with your friends or school mates, because it´s a great experience you are going to enjoy. 

 

Veronica Rodriguez - Rey Marin (2022-24)